Wondering Boys

Liz Hickok

Posted in Uncategorized by Mick on August 2, 2008


Well, it looks like building and creating in jelly is the new cool. A few days ago we wrote about these artists, and now I stumble up on Liz Hickok, she build whole of San Francisco in jelly rainbow-colors San Francisco just got gayer!

Liz Hickock:
This project consists of photographs and video, which depict various San Francisco landscapes. I make the landscapes by constructing scale models of the architectural elements which I use to make molds. I then cast the buildings in Jell-O. Similar to making a movie set, I add backdrops, which I often paint, and elements such as mountains or trees, and then I dramatically light the scenes from the back or underneath. The Jell-O sculptures quickly decay, leaving the photographs and video as the remains.

click click click

Leave a Reply

